Sunday Funday

Monday, Monday, can’t trust that day

Monday, Monday, sometimes it just turns out that way.

 

The Mamas & the Papas had it right when they sang about the blues that Mondays always seem to bring. It’s not Monday’s fault – it is inherently the end of the weekend, the end of the fun and relaxation. Mondays are inevitably somber affairs.

But I don’t want to talk about Mondays, I want to talk about the magic that is Sunday. I have a passionate love for Sundays. They may be the last day of weekend freedom, but they embody everything I enjoy about being a free twenty-something.

Maybe I should explain.

By now, if you have read any of my previous posts, you will know that I am a serial comeback kid. I believe in January resolution making (and take it very, very seriously), schedules, programs, sticker charts, you name it. I love the first of the month, sunrises, and the promise that a good night’s sleep will inevitably bring you peace and a fresh start in the morning.

Recently I had a friend roll her eyes at me and complain, “You’re always starting over!” And it’s true, I am. My place is at the drawing board, testing new ways of completing tasks and new schedules. If I think there’s a chance that I could be living life just a little more fully, I’m willing to pursue the change.

That’s not to say I give up easily. Last year at this time, I sat down everyday for a month and wrote the first draft of a novella. Rather, I am comfortable admitting when a particular schedule isn’t working for me, and taking the time to examine what would make it better. As I am not tied down with a family or a dog (yet!), I am free to make these changes as frequently as I please, affecting no one but myself.

For me, Sundays are the weekly day to begin anew. The mistakes and trials of the week before are magically undone – but not forgotten. So long as there are Sundays, there is the assurance that things can and will get better, or stay right where you want them.

p.s. Looking for inspiration on how to better reflect on your weekly goals? Instagram is full of amazing bloggers like iamlisajacobs, a self-described planner junkie who details beautiful spreads in her journals dedicated to self-improvement and breaking down bigger tasks into bite sized pieces.

Signature

 

Leave a Reply

