Om

Meditation-2

Lately, it seems like my brain is constantly and humming with activity. A lot of it is because work is absolutely nuts right now, and so I’m always finding myself thinking about what I need to prepare, who I need to email, etc. Otherwise, I’m dreaming up new blog posts, brainstorming for that next DIY project, planning future trips, and worrying about everything else.

I broke down the other night, convinced my brain was on steroids and that I’d never get any peace. I called my mom, because who better to cry to? She heard out my woes patiently and then offered – meditation!

I think I started to roll my eyes, but then caught myself. Meditation sounded like a nutty idea, something for people with more patience and self-control than I, but I remembered how in college I would attend guided meditation sessions offered during finals week. More often than not, I would fall asleep during them, spread full-eagle on a mat surrounded by strangers, but it was because I was so relaxed and comfortable.

For the last week or so, I’ve been re-visiting guided meditation as a means to shut my brain off before bed. Normally, I hate having computer screens in the bedroom, but I quickly searched for videos on YouTube before settling down with one from channel Psychetruth. I turned the brightness way way down, tossed it onto my nightstand, and settled back on my pillows.

This is how my thought process went during the fourteen minutes:

 

  • Am I comfy? Am I too comfy? Where should my arms be? What was I supposed to remember for tomorrorow?
  • Picture a boat, eh? Oh wow, I remember that one time we went on dad’s friend’s boat and jumped off!
  • Stop thinking about other things, focus on the damn boat!
  • Ok, I think I’m getting the hang of this. Breathe in, breathe out.
  • Zzzzzzzzzzz

I don’t even remember the end of the video, because at some point I fell into such a deep sleep that I almost was late to work the next morning. Since then, I’ve tested a few more videos, each with the same result. They make it easier to rope in those rogue thoughts that keep me up at night, instead helping me to focus my mind and breathing and to relax.

There are many, many different forms of meditation, and I’m looking forward to incorporating it more into my daily schedule.

Not convinced yet? Here are eight ways meditation benefits you in mind, body, and soul.

Here’s the video I tried on my first night by Psychetruth:

 

Signature

 

Leave a Reply

