Spartan Struggle

Happy New Year! After a relaxing few weeks off, I have hit the ground running with my New Year’s resolutions. My resolutions are always extremely simple: be the happiest I can be.  This is my go-to because:

  1. Who doesn’t want to be the happiest?!
  2. It leaves a lot of room for interpretation.

I think resolutions are designed to help us stay on track with evolution. I don’t believe in the #newyearnewme. It should be: a new year, better me.

I took a leap of faith before the holidays and signed up for my first Spartan race. With surprisingly minimal effort, my co-workers lured me onto their team. The Spartan Sprint is one of the shortest races this organization offers. It is advertised as a 3+ mile race (The “+” makes it a little scary).Lucky for me, it will have all of the famous obstacles: jumping over walls, mud, fire, and the dreaded burpees.

Like I mentioned in Walk it Out my office is very active. I am so blessed to be surrounded by an eclectic group of active enthusiasts. For some, it is in their blood. They are former college athletes, adventurers, obstacle race enthusiasts, and exercise science majors. Some of them bleed competition and will stop at nothing to be the best, even if it is the best at unwrapping promotional pens. For the rest of us, we are extremely social beings; who gravitate towards anything that allows us to spend some quality time with each other- precious, right?  After signing up, my team decided to elect our race enthusiast to be our motivator and trainer.

The best part of this resolution is it allows me to be both happier and healthier. I get to share my resolution with my co-workers in an effort to fulfill their own. I think it is important to include your surroundings into a resolution. Look to be a better person for your family and friends. Look to do something better for your community or environment. Look to create or stop something that can change a strangers’ deposition. Look to be a better you not only for you, but for everyone.

To be a happier me, it starts by conquering this race. Hello 6 am workouts!

Jess (2)

Leave a Reply

