Bring on the potatoes!

Untitled

Traditions. I have a propensity to create traditions. I believe it is a genetic quality I inherited from my mother, who bless her soul, is the queen of tradition starting. I believe it started one summer when I was 12. Each week, we would go to the beach to get beach pizza. These dinners were something that every person in my large family enjoyed, a little bit of peace for my mom. This small journey to the coast encapsulated my early pre-teens; which in turn strengthened the importance of traditions in my life.

I am fortunate to surround myself with individuals whom equally enjoy tradition making. One of my favorites comes every fall with the changing of leaves. Typically, the last weekend of September is full with sleepovers, baked potatoes, farm animals, unique crafty goods, and an unlimited supply of fried foods. What amazing weekend is this, you ask.  The Big-E!

The Big-E is short for the Eastern States Exposition. It is one of the largest fairs in the region, but also one of the largest in the U.S. This past year over 1,498,605 people attended to try their luck at unbeatable fair games and enjoy the company of the cutest farm animals. This fair brings in vendors and performers from all 5 New England States.Check out all the fun events and the count down to next year!

One of the state houses!

One of the state houses!

This is where my tradition begins. Every year my gal pals and myself come together from our now distance residences to have the most epic adult sleepover and overload our systems with an unsavory amount of calories. These weekends often follow an very simple formula.

1. Caravan-The weekend begins when we drive together across the state. We cram ourselves and our overabundance of things into a Corolla and hit the road. We spend the hours stuck in traffic sippin’ on Dunkin’s and planning out how we will spend the next day or two.

2. Home cooked meal-We are fortunate to have a family to welcome us when we arrive in Western Mass. Not only with open arms, this amazing family often has a meal cooked and ready for us. It is fun to see how we have evolved around this dinner table.

3.Early risers- We are that group to get to the fair before the gates open or at least before 10 am. Full with another homemade meal, we are full energy (comparable to a child around the holidays) and ready to go!10646939_10100532398995435_428231066930759155_n

4. Photo-shoots- these comes at any point in the weekend. This year we decided to take it before the fair. It is only customary that we document all crazy adventures, this being the show piece of most of our collections. (notice the matching shirts)

420140920_105554.Maine baked potatoes-We always start the day with a Maine baked potato. I mean, wouldn’t you? The Big-E dedicates a building to each NE state, Maine being the best. These things are massive, but the best part of the whole fair. Our strategy is to fill up on the potato early, walk it off, then try other things.

5. Mosey-ers-We LOVE to stroll the fair. We go into every booth, specifically making it a point to skim the the $1 booth.(Everything is honestly a buck!) This year we did our most mosey-ing yet. We did around 20,000 steps!

1411239337517

How often do you get the chance to be near or even take a picture with a cruiser?! Supporting the men in Blue ❤

6. Photo-ops- This place if filled with photo opportunities. Most times we go for the cardboard cut outs you can put your face in. Other times we pose with animals or note able characters we find in our travels.

I dare you. I dare you to resist their cute-ness.

I dare you. I dare you to resist their cute-ness.

Without a doubt this is one of my favorite traditions. I love being able to build upon memories and keeping in touch with the people that mean the most. I mean how often do you get to wear matching super hero t-shirts with your besties?! Until next year!

Jess (2)

Leave a Reply

