Clear out the Clutter – It’s Fall!

Monogram

It may not seem like it, but I love shopping. Refreshing one’s wardrobe can be quite magical, especially when it’s been a while between shopping sprees. Upon arriving in LA, I noticed two things: firstly, it’s an oven here, especially in the summer. Secondly, my wardrobe wasn’t quite up to the

Shameless pre-work selfie - note the shorts.

Shameless pre-work selfie – note the shorts.

challenge of simultaneously being adultish and breathable (you can read more about my difficulty in being an adult here). I spent the first month and a half in – no joke – jean shorts and tank tops. When everyday tops out at 90 degrees and you have to be out and about, moving and working, long pants and satiny blouses aren’t going to do it.

Thankfully, my bosses are super chill and no one said a word about the shorts – although one executive cheerfully commented that I always look like “a camp counselor”. Since that remark, I’ve made it a goal to slowly update my closet, one piece at a time.

Thankfully, fall is on it’s way. While some days are still roasting hot (it was 91 degrees in my apartment today), the nights are cooler and the sun isn’t as strong. And with this new season came some new clothes! I was on my first commercial production set this week as a production assistant, and needed some new digs. I ended up going to Old Navy and grabbing some comfy shirts and pants.

With the new influx of clothes, though, there must always be some outgoing items as well. Cleaning

Wise words!

Wise words!

out your closet doesn’t have to be reserved for just spring – I think it’s incredibly beneficial to give your clothes a once over after each season. For me, it’s a way to keep a check on how much I own, and to weed out the items I no longer wear or fit into.

This time around, I’m giving up a pair of jeans that continuously fall down, a vest that no longer fits, a blouse I haven’t worn in ages, and a black sweater that irritates my skin. Everything will be going to Goodwill, but there are many other charities and secondhand stores that will accept your used clothing and belongings, such as Out of the Closet, Crossroads Trading Co., The Salvation Army, Society of St. Vincent de Paul, etc. I love that I’m not throwing anything away, and that somebody somewhere could get better use out of my belongings than I currently am.

On the flip side, I LOVE finding bargains at Goodwill. It takes patience, and a little bit of hand sanitizer, but amongst the racks you can always find a gem. Here’s to some happy shopping & cleaner closets!

Signature

Leave a Reply

