Healthy Makes It Happen

Monogram Every so often, I like to check in and make sure I’m on the right track health-wise. It can be easy to lose a little sleep here, forget your flu shot there, etc. As fall swings into full gear, I’m starting to put together a healthy checklist of everything I’d like to improve on. That way, I can spend more time sipping Pumpkin Spice Lattes and pretending it’s cold out, and less time hanging in bed with the sniffles!

  • More sleep. I’m a typical 20-something in that I don’t go to bed when I should. Forget about getting up early – I can barely get up in time to brush my hair into something manageable before work. Experts are still recommending 7-8 hours a night, but I’m barely averaging six. The Huffington Post recommends these tips for getting more shut-eye:
    • Make a rule to keep tech out of your bed, and turn off all devices at least an hour before bedtime. This means no last minute Facebook/Instagram checks.
    • Keep a worry journal. A lot of the time, I can’t sleep because I’m too busy trying to remember everything I have to do the next day. Writing down reminders, as well as things that are keeping you worried, can help put the mind at ease.
    • Stick to a regular routine. Getting ready for bed earlier in the evening – washing up, putting on PJs, unwinding with restful activities – can ready your body for sleep.
  • Health Calendar. Ever try to think back to your last doctor’s appointment, and realize it was over a year ago? Regular check ups of all sorts, from your eyes to your skin, are crucial to maintaining your health. I find it helpful to keep a running list of all the healthcare providers I should be seeing on a regular basis, along with when I last saw them and when I should probably see them next. Then I throw everything into my regular calendar with reminders.
  • Keeping up with Regular Exercise. I’ve been pretty good about making it to the gym, but lately I’ve been

    Farmer’s market berries are never a bad idea

    getting a little lax with my workouts. One day I arrived to find out that I’d forgotten to pack socks, earbuds, and a sports bra! Rather than sludge it out, I went home early. Being prepared is half the battle – the rest is up to me to create an engaging workout that’ll get me excited about exercising and wanting more.

  • Making the most of Meal Planning. My schedule is mostly consistent during the week, and because I eat two out of three meals at work, meal planning should be pretty easy. The trick for me is that when I am home to eat, I always seem to gravitate towards the less healthy options in sight. Planning what to eat in advance is a great way to make sure I’m getting a little bit of every food group – ice cream included
    • One blog I love to follow is Simply Taralynn. It’s all about healthy living, delicious recipes, and fitness. Check it out here!
  • Hydration, hydration, hydration! Drinking water is always important, but seeing as I now live in a desert, this is especially true.
    • While there are many differing opinions on how much you should be drinking a day, 8 8-oz glasses is the common recommendation. I find it easier to get a few out of the way by pairing a glass with each meal I eat.

Signature

Leave a Reply

