Fighting Wednesday Wipeout

Monogram

Wednesday

 

It’s Wednesday ladies and gents, and you know what that means. It’s the time of the week where our fuel reserves go from being semi-charged (thanks to the weekend) to desperately needing a reboot. In addition to being someone who could benefit greatly from two naps a day, I am also a sufferer of Wednesday Wipeout, especially now that I’m working full time.

What to do, I pondered Tuesday night. I started to brainstorm all the things that get me charged in a day (besides caffeine and cookies) and it hit me: my nightly workout. I’ve been on a really good streak lately where I head right to the gym after work for an hour long-session of cardio and strength training.

My workouts, however, have been lackluster lately. On Monday night I remember looking at the clock and thinking I don’t want to be here anymore – only after about 20 minutes! We are all, of course, entitled to days where we just don’t feel like sweating alongside a bunch of strangers. But what really made this thought stick is that it’s a feeling I’ve been having for a while now. I used to look forward to using the elliptical in the back whose TV still works and doesn’t make a weird sound when your left foot comes down. I loved staying those extra few minutes to finish that last bicep curl. What happened?

Me enjoying a good sweat. Maybe a little too much.

Me enjoying a good sweat. Maybe a little too much.

My music happened. Rather, my lack of motivating, energy pumping music. What I’ve realized over time is that putting in a full exercise routine at 7:30PM after a full day of work isn’t always the most fun thing in the world. Distractions are welcome to make the tedious parts go faster. For instance, I love reading my Nook on the elliptical during longer sessions. Music has been another great way to keep me moving. You know that feeling when your favorite, bass-dropping beat-pumping insanity-inducing song comes on the radio and all you want to do is jump up and down and scream the lyrics? That’s what I crave at the gym.

What I’ve found is since my last music reboot, I’ve fallen out of love with quite a few of the songs from both of my workout playlists. The result is that I work out to the same ten songs, over and over. The mundanity is killing my good workout vibes and adding to my terrible Wednesday Wipeout.

So! With a little help from the Internet and my roomie, I’ve put together an entirely new 30 minute playlist for days that need a little oomph!

Aubrey’s Ragin’ Playlist to Put a Little Twerk in Your Work

  1. Take Over Control, Afrojack & Eva Simons
  2. Wake Me Up, Avicii
  3. Run the World (Girls), Beyonce
  4. I Need Your Love, Calvin Harris ft. Ellie Goulding
  5. Titanium, David Guetta ft. Sia
  6. Dark Horse, Katy Perry
  7. Birthday (Cash Cash Remix), Katy Perry
  8. Tumhi Ho Bandhu, Cocktail (inspired by the Bollywood dance fitness class I’ve been taking!)
  9. Chammak Challo, Akon (also Bollywood inspired)

And if this doesn’t motivate you, you can watch this video of Serena Williams looking fierce and fit as all get out:

Here’s to an inspired & motivated rest of your week! Cheers!

Signature

Leave a Reply

